Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

February 3, 2025

Daniel R. Garodnick, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor New York, NY 10271

## Re: Residential Rezoning of Manufacturing and Commercial Districts in Manhattan Community District 8

Dear Chair Garodnick,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, January 15, 2025, the board **<u>UNANIUMOUSY APPROVED</u>** the following resolution by a vote of 38 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstention, and 0 not voting for cause:

**Whereas** the CB8M Task Force for Residential Rezoning was formed in response to a Board resolution sent to the NYC Department of City Planning in June 2023, and

**Whereas** the Task Force's goal is to address the need for more affordable housing in CB8M by proposing zoning actions that would trigger MIH – Mandatory Inclusionary Housing, and

Whereas the Task Force focused on the portions of blocks in CB8 that are zoned for manufacturing or commercial use where new residential use is not allowed, and

Whereas the City is currently in a housing crisis, and

Whereas CB8M has consistently ranked affordable housing as a top priority in the District Needs Statement, and

**Whereas** the Task Force developed guidelines for the new zone types in order to create rationale and consistency in its recommendations, while balancing the interests in allowing for new housing vs. preserving existing housing, neighborhood character, and scale, and

Whereas the Task Force held eight (8) prior public meetings in which it reviewed the existing conditions, housing units, and contextual photographs for each block in the study, and

Whereas the Task Force made initial proposals, facilitated discussion on each of those proposals and in some cases modified those proposals as a result of the feedback during those meetings, and

**Whereas** the Task Force proposed a mix of zones including R8B, R8A, R10A and R10 (or equivalent) based on the characteristics of each block, as detailed in the summary presentation,

Block	Street	Final Proposal
1556	94 <sup>th</sup> South Side of block between 1 <sup>st</sup> & 2 <sup>nd</sup>	R8A
1557	94 <sup>th</sup> North Side – 95 <sup>th</sup> South Side between $1^{st}$ & $2^{nd}$	R10A

1569	90 <sup>th</sup> South Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8A
1570	90 <sup>th</sup> North Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8B
1570	91 <sup>st</sup> South Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8A
1571	91 <sup>st</sup> North Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8A
1571	92 <sup>nd</sup> South Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R10A
1587	90 <sup>th</sup> North Side between York & River	No action (Asphalt Green)
1435	West Side of 1 <sup>st</sup> Ave between 60-61	R10 Commercial Equivalent
1435	60 <sup>th</sup> North Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & 2 <sup>nd</sup>	R10
1435	61 <sup>st</sup> South Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & 2 <sup>nd</sup>	R8A
1456	East Side of First Ave between 61-62	R10 Commercial Equivalent
1456	61 <sup>st</sup> North Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8A
1456	62 <sup>nd</sup> South Side between 1 <sup>st</sup> & York	R8A
1474	East Side of York Ave between 61-62 including	R10
	inner lot	
1484	73 <sup>rd</sup> South Side between York & River	R10
1485	73 <sup>rd</sup> North Side between York & River	R8B
1485	74 <sup>th</sup> S between York & River	R10A
1486	74 <sup>th</sup> North Side – 75 <sup>th</sup> South Side between York &	M3-2 site not in scope (ConEd)
	River	,
1487	75 <sup>th</sup> North Side between York & River	R10A
1487	76 <sup>th</sup> South Side between York & River	R8A

**Therefore, be it resolved** that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the recommendations of the Task Force for Residential Rezoning and directs the Task Force to submit their proposal to the Department of City Planning.

Community Board 8 is proud of the work of our task force, put in over a year and a half, which has resulted in a unanimous vote to move forward with this rezoning recommendation. We hope to hear from you expeditiously so that we can work together to take the next steps to make our rezoning recommendation a reality as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Elizabeth Rose & Adam Wald

Elizabeth Rose and Adam Wald Co-Chairs, Task Force on Residential Rezoning

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District