Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 23, 2025

Jennifer Sta. Ines Manhattan Deputy Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038 Deborah Marton President Public Design Commission City Hall, Third Floor New York, NY 10001

RE: 1 East 60th Street Met Club Sidewalk

Dear Deputy Commissioner Sta. Ines and President Marton,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 18, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 38 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; The Metropolitan Club, owners of the property at 1 East 60th Street, have submitted an application to the New York City Public Design Commission to restore the historic granite paving of the existing driveway; and

WHEREAS; The original driveway, completed originally in 1894, was impacted by the open-cut construction of the New York City Subway in 1918; and

WHEREAS; The project seeks to restore the driveway to replicate its original condition; and

WHEREAS; There is ongoing work in the property's courtyard that is associated with this project, which has obtained approvals from the Landmarks Commission; and

WHEREAS; The restored driveway will utilize accessible cobblestone in 4x4 blocks with less than 1/4 inch transitions that will be thermally treated to prevent slippage; and

WHEREAS; The project's materials and appearance were selected to complement similar stones are used along the perimeter of street trees in nearby Central Park;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the application to the New York City Public Design Commission to restore the historic granite paving of the existing driveway of 1 East 60th Street.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District