Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 29, 2025

Matthew C. Fraser Chief Technology Officer NYC Office of Technology & Innovation 2 MetroTech Center, P1 Brooklyn, NY 11201

## RE: Reporting of Complaints to 311 for Locations without Street Addresses

Dear CTO Fraser.

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 21, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; NYC311 is vital resource for the public to report non-emergency complaints and issues to the Traffic Enforcement divisions of the New York Police Department; and

**WHEREAS;** NYC311 offers multiple platforms to enter complaints and file reports, including by phone, online, and on apps; and

**WHEREAS**; all NYC311 reports require an identifiable street address in order for it to be able to be entered into the system; and

WHEREAS; locations such as Central Park and the East River Esplanade do not have street addresses; and

WHEREAS; there are frequent occasions when reports to 311 would be appropriate at locations without street addresses, such as speeding, failure to yield the right of way, malfunctioning signals, among others; and

**WHEREAS**; a technological remedy to this issue should be able to be performed by the Office of Technology and Innovation;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on the New York City Office of Technology and Innovation to ensure that complaints related to locations without street addresses, such as parks and esplanades, are able to be easily reported through all 311 apps, websites, and contact points.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District