Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 22, 2025

Jennifer Sta. Ines Manhattan Deputy Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## **RE: York Avenue Traffic Study**

Dear Deputy Commissioner Sta. Ines,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 9 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; NYCDOT has kicked off a York Avenue Transportation Study in March 2025; and

**WHEREAS**; NYCDOT will be conducting extensive data collection across the study corridor extending from 59<sup>th</sup> Street to 96<sup>th</sup> Street; and

WHEREAS; there is an ongoing sewer and water main replacement project in the low 60s that started in 2015 and has had significant impacts on traffic flow and safety due to lane closures and obstructions; and

WHEREAS; the completion date of the sewer and water main replacement project has been delayed on multiple occasions, and is now targeted for summer 2025 if no additional delays occur; and

WHEREAS; the ongoing impacts of construction continue to impact York Avenue; and

WHEREAS; any data collection for the York Avenue Transportation Study in the vicinity of the sewer and water main replacement construction before it is removed will be unreliable and not indicative of normal activity on York Avenue;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that NYCDOT postpone data collection for the York Avenue Transportation Study in the segment between 59<sup>th</sup> and 66<sup>th</sup> Streets until the entire right-of-way of York Avenue is restored upon completion of the water main project and traffic conditions return to a normal state.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District