Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 22, 2025

Jennifer Sta. Ines Manhattan Deputy Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: DOT Proposed Amendment of Rules Relating to Outdoor Seating in Pedestrian Plazas and Open Streets

Dear Deputy Commissioner Sta. Ines,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 31 in favor, 10 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; a proposed amendment to Title 34 of the Rules of the City of New York has been announced; and

WHEREAS; the proposed rule would allow for the designation of areas of NYCDOT pedestrian plazas and open streets for the exclusive use of private patrons, subject to certain restrictions and the review and approval of NYCDOT; and

WHEREAS; revenues generated by any use of pedestrian plazas and open streets by private businesses would be used to support maintenance of these spaces; and

WHEREAS; any restrictions to the use of public spaces are exclusionary and inappropriate; and

WHEREAS; the notion of reserving portions of public spaces for private use is antithetical to the purpose of reconstituting streets into public pedestrian plazas and open streets; and

WHEREAS; concerns have been raised regarding maintenance and enforcement of any carved out private spaces in a pedestrian plaza and open street;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan disapproves a proposed amendment of Title 34 of the Rules of the City of New York which would allow for designation of areas of NYCDOT pedestrian plazas and open streets for the exclusive use of private patrons.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District