Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

March 26, 2025

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Request to NYCDOT for Additional Parking Spaces for NYPD's 19th Precinct

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 19, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 4 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; NYPD's 19th Precinct is requesting NYCDOT conduct an evaluation of parking near their headquarters at 153 East 67th Street to identify potential additional dedicated on-street spaces; and

WHEREAS; NYPD's 19th Precinct currently has 14 spaces assigned for their fleet of 47 official vehicles; and

WHEREAS; 5 NYPD spaces located on East 68th Street between 3rd Avenue and Lexington Avenue were recently removed as part of the project to renovate the 68th Street NYC Subway Station; and

WHEREAS; the 19th Precinct is now struggling to legally park their vehicles in close proximity to their headquarters with only 14 dedicated parking spaces for 47 official vehicles; and

WHEREAS; NYCDOT has previously denied a request from the 19th Precinct to replace their recently removed dedicated spaces due to limited on-street inventory; and

WHEREAS; the 19th Precinct's operations would benefit from the maximum number of additional parking spaces that could be allotted to them; and

WHEREAS; the community strongly supports the work of the 19th Precinct and their need to safely and legally park their vehicles without interfering with traffic operations;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that NYCDOT perform a study of the area in the immediate proximity of NYPD's 19th Precinct at 153 East 67th Street for availability of spaces for official departmental vehicles, with a goal of identifying as many on-street spaces that they can find for their use.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District