Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com-Websiteinfo@cb8m.com - E-Mail

March 26, 2025

Susan M. Donoghue Commissioner Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065

RE: Approval of the installations of sculptures to be temporarily installed from April to October 2025 on the Park Avenue Malls between East 52nd Street to 70th Street

Dear Commissioner Donoghue,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 19, 2025, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the Parks Department proposes to install 10 sculptures in bronze and marble by the American artist Alma Allen along the Park Avenue Mall between East 52nd and 70th Streets between April and October 2025;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED Manhattan Community Board 8 supports the installation of sculptures to be temporarily installed on the Park Avenue Malls at East 52nd/53rd, 54th, 55th, 56th, 57th, 66th, 67th, and 70th Streets, by the artist Alma Allen, from April to October 2025.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason Felice Farber and Judith Schneider

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Felice Farber and Judith Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

Alida Camp Alida Camp

Chair, Arts Committee

cc: Honorable Tricia Shimamura, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Parks and Recreation

Honorable Steve Simon, Chief of Staff to the Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Parks & Recreation

Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District