Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 8, 2025

Jennifer Sta. Ines Manhattan Deputy Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Revocable Consent Approval for 134 East 74th Street

Dear Deputy Commissioner Sta. Ines,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 19, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 30 in favor, 7 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; 134 East 74th Street is seeking a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area; and

WHEREAS; there is an existing fenced-in area that extends 3'1" beyond the property line along a portion of the newly combined property; and

WHEREAS; the fenced-in area is needed to separate the sidewalk from a proposed sunken stairwell that would allow it to be level with the existing building upon being combined; and

WHEREAS; the proposal for the new entranceway had previously received strong support from Community Board 8 in a May 2023 Landmarks resolution; and

WHEREAS; the owners are seeking to extend the fenced in area to continue across the extent of the entire combined property, which would extend 3'1" beyond the property line throughout its entirety; and

WHEREAS; the proposed fenced-in area will not provide any public benefits and take away valuable sidewalk space;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>DISAPPROVES</u>, as presented, the revocable consent request for 134 East 74th Street to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area, including a planted area and steps.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District