Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

February 28, 2025

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## RE: Speed Limit Reduction on 66th Street between First and York Avenues

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on February 19, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; the New York City Department of Transportation is proposing a speed limit reduction from 25 MPH to 15 MPH on East 66<sup>th</sup> Street between York Avenue and First Avenue; and

WHEREAS; this location is the first speed limit reduction proposed under "Sammy's Law" in Community District 8, and is intended to improve safety on the block where PS 183 – Robert L. Stevenson is located; and

WHEREAS; speed limits under Sammy's law by schools can be reduced to as low as 15MPH, as it proposed at this location; and

WHEREAS; there is a history of crashes since 2015 on this block that have resulted in pedestrian injuries; and

WHEREAS; there is a strong correlation between higher vehicular speeds and the severity of injuries and fatalities of pedestrians hit by vehicles; and

WHEREAS; additional traffic calming measures can further enhance safety and promote slower speeds;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the NYCDOT proposal to reduce the speed limit as a school street under Sammy's Law from 25 MPH to 15PMH on East 66<sup>th</sup> Street between York Avenue and First Avenue;

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests additional traffic calming measure be implemented along this block to further ensure that vehicles adhere to the proposed 15 MPH speed limit.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District