Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill **District Manager**



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

February 28, 2025

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

Matthew C. Fraser Chief Technology Officer NYC Office of Technology & Innovation 2 MetroTech Center, P1 Brooklyn, NY 11201

RE: Proposed Link5G without Ad Screen at 1150 Madison Avenue

Dear Commissioner Pincar and CTO Fraser.

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on February 19, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the NYC Office of Technology and Innovation is proposing a new Link 5G kiosk without a screen near the southwest corner of East 86th Street and Madison Avenue in front of 1150 Madison Avenue; and

WHEREAS; NYC OTI did not provide any justification of the need for a Link 5G kiosk at this location, and the area in which the Link 5G would serve is already well-served by existing 5G cellular service; and

WHEREAS; there would be negative impacts to pedestrians at this location if a Link 5G kiosk were to be installed; and

WHEREAS; the proposed Link 5G kiosk location is within the area of potential effect of multiple historic districts, and would alter viewsheds in an adverse manner and thus should be subject to Section 106 reviews; and

WHEREAS; Community Board 8 Manhattan passed still-pertinent a resolution in January 2023 calling for a moratorium on construction and planning of Link 5G poles and devices in the District;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan **disapproves** NYCOTI's Link 5G Kiosk proposed for installation adjacent to 1150 Madison Avenue near the corner of East 86th Street and Madison Avenue.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Valerie S. Mason Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District