Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 23, 2025

Hon. United States Representative Jerry Nadler 12th Congressional District Representative 201 Varick Street, Suite 669 New York, NY 10014

<u>RE:</u> Calling on local congressional leaders to reinstate any funding cuts by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and to continue funding lifesaving DEP projects

Dear Representative Nadler,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 21, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS climate extremes have become much more prevalent and dangerous; and

WHEREAS the Department of Environmental Protection is in charge of water control and green infrastructure; and

WHEREAS the Department of Environmental Protection is dependent upon federal as well as state and city funding, then;

BE IT RESOLVED that CB8 urges our congressional leaders to reinstate any funding cuts by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and to continue funding lifesaving DEP projects.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Sahar Husain, Addeson Lehn, and Barbara Rudder

Sahar Husain, Addeson Lehv, and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Sanitation and Environment Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York State Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District Honorable Martin Fatooh, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection