Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 27, 2024

Israel Wengerd Farmers Market Organization Head Wengerd Farmers Market Roosevelt Island, NY 10044

RE: Roosevelt Island Farmers Market

Dear Israel Wengerd,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 26, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution with a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market has been a Saturday morning fixture on the island for 35 years starting in June of 1989; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers provides Roosevelt Island residents with an amazing array of fresh and healthy produce and other foods; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market is set up year round, come rain, snow or shine; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market crew drives hours from their farm in Pennsylvania to bring the market to Roosevelt Island, leaving their farm in the very early hours and starting to set up on Roosevelt Island around 3 am, before most residents are awake; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market setup is always well laid out and well maintained during the day; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market crew are always friendly and helpful and adapt to community needs based on their customers; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market is very generous and supportive of the community and island organizations; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market has provided an invaluable addition to life on Roosevelt Island over decades; and

WHEREAS; The Wengerd Farmers Market crew always leaves the market site spotless at the end of the day;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan relishes the opportunity to thank Israel Wengerd, his family, the cashiers and all the other staff for all the years of dedicated service to this community.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Paul Krikler

Valerie S. Mason Paul Krikler

Chair, Roosevelt Island Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District