Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

## Re: Opposition to any changes affecting ULURP

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS**, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

**WHEREAS**, the Uniform Land Use Review Process (ULURP) provides an opportunity for public review and input, including through New York City community boards, on zoning changes and other significant land use decisions; and

**WHEREAS**, public review and input into zoning changes and other significant land use decisions, including specifically through New York City community boards, is essential to the wellbeing of New York City and the quality of life of its residents; and

**WHEREAS**, New York City community boards play an important role in ULURP and are uniquely wellpositioned to advise on proposed changes to the New York City Charter affecting ULURP; and **WHEREAS**, reducing the zoning changes and other significant land use decisions that are subject to ULURP would be detrimental to the wellbeing of New York City and the quality of life of its inhabitants;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M opposes any changes to the New York City Charter affecting ULURP.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District