Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

Re: Two year limit to the duration of emergency contracts

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input;

WHEREAS, New York City may enter emergency contracts without abiding by the processes and restrictions that would otherwise be required for contracts;

WHEREAS, such emergency contracts may extend for longer than two years;

WHEREAS, the processes and restrictions that are ordinarily applicable to New York City contracts provide important safeguards for promoting transparency and public input and avoiding waste, fraud, and abuse; and

WHEREAS, for contracts that New York City needs to enter subject to a bona fide emergency, two years should be a sufficient duration, after which New York City should abide by the otherwise applicable processes and restrictions;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to limit the duration of emergency contracts to no longer than two years.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner
Russell Squire and Shari Weiner
Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

Valerie S. Mason Chair

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District