Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

Re: Independent Budget Office analysis of the fiscal impact of certain city legislation

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

WHEREAS, New York City's Independent Budget Office provides independent analysis of the fiscal impact of proposed legislation, free of political bias and the influence of the elected officials and/or agencies proposing particular legislation; and

WHEREAS, the Independent Budget Office only provides analysis of the fiscal impact of legislation when requested by city elected officials; and

WHEREAS, the Independent Budget Office's analysis of the fiscal impact of certain proposed legislation would be beneficial to both elected officials and the public even in cases where it has not been requested by elected officials;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to require that the Independent Budget Office be mandated to provide independent analysis of the fiscal impact of certain city legislation.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District