Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

Re: Civilian Complaint Review Board budget

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 27 in favor, 5 opposed, 3 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

WHEREAS, the budget for the Civilian Complaint Review Board should be determined in the same manner as the budgets for other city agencies, through laws passed by the New York City Council and approved or vetoed by the Mayor of New York City, in accordance with those officials' respective judgment; and

WHEREAS, regardless of whether one thinks the current budget of either the Civilian Complaint Review Board should be raised or lowered, or whether the budget of the New York Police Department should be raised or lowered, the budgets for those two entities should not be linked by a mandated funding percentage specified in the New York City Charter;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M opposes revising the New York City Charter to require that the Civilian Complaint Review Board budget should be a fixed percentage of the budget of the New York Police Department or otherwise raised or lowered in direct proportion to the New York Police Department budget.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District