Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill **District Manager** 



## The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair **Charter Revision Commission** City Hall New York, NY 10001

Re: Ballot measures be presented on ballots objectively, factually, and accurately

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

WHEREAS, New York City ballot measures often deal with issues of city law and government that are complicated and/or unfamiliar to the general public; and

WHEREAS, such ballot measures should be presented to the public in a manner that enables voters to understand what they are voting on; and

WHEREAS, descriptions of ballot measures should not promote a particular viewpoint or outcome;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to require that ballot measures be presented on ballots objectively, factually, and accurately.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York cc:

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District