Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

Re: Aligning the Department of Transportation Charter Language with Federal Standards

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 23 in favor, 11 opposed, 2 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

WHEREAS, the New York City Department of Transportation seeks to align Charter language with federal standards, to reduce public hearing requirements, to have the ability to issue financial grants with partners, to expand its jurisdiction over sidewalk/roadway cafes, and to streamline the process of adding e-bike charging cabinets on streets; and

WHEREAS, public input on the above items, including through New York City community boards, is essential to quality of life of New York City residents and should not be abridged or curtailed;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M opposes the Department of Transportation's Charter revision proposals to align Charter language with federal standards, to reduce public hearing requirements, to have the ability to issue financial grants with partners, to expand its jurisdiction over sidewalk/roadway cafes, and to streamline the process of adding e-bike charging cabinets on streets.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District