Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2024

Carlo Scissura, Chair Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10001

**Re: Units of Appropriation** 

Dear Chair Scissura,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, July 17, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, CB8M is concerned that the charter revision process this year is too rushed and has not provided sufficient opportunity for public input; and

**WHEREAS**, units of appropriation (corresponding in lay terms more or less to line items) in New York City budget legislation are usually too large and undifferentiated; and

WHEREAS, units of appropriation often do not specify funding amounts for specific programs and agencies; and

**WHEREAS**, the New York City Charter should be revised to require more specificity regarding units of appropriation in budget legislation;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to require more specific units of appropriation in budget legislation, including a separate unit of appropriation for each city agency with an operating budget over \$2 million.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Chair

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner

Russell Squire and Shari Weiner Charter Revision Task Force Co-Chairs

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District