Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

January 21, 2025

Hon. Eric Adams Mayor of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: The creation of a unit within the Department of Small Business Services (SBS) or another agency to enforce rules and laws pertaining to commercial tenant harassment

Dear Mayor Adams,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 15, 2025, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 3 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS there are instances of commercial tenant harassment; and

WHEREAS there are specific rules and laws that prohibit tenant harassment; and

WHEREAS the City has no mechanism to enforce compliance with the anti-commercial tenant harassment; and

WHEREAS the City provides other types of support and resources for small businesses; and

WHEREAS the SBS has no power to enforce; and

WHEREAS without enforcement, there is no remedy for small businesses that have been subject to landlord harassment other than going to court; and

WHEREAS going through litigation to pursue a remedy against a harassing landlord could take years and cost upwards of \$100,000;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 calls on the City to create a unit within the SBS or another agency to enforce rules and laws pertaining to tenant harassment.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason Bill Angelos and Alida Camp

Valerie S. Mason Chair Bill Angelos and Alida Camp Co-Chairs, Small Business Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District

Honorable Oswald Feliz, NYC Council Member, 15th Council District

Honorable Erik Bottcher, NYC Council Member, 3rd Council District

Honorable Vickie Paladino, NYC Council Member, 19th Council District

Honorable Sandra Ung, NYC Council Member, 20th Council District

Honorable Shekar Krishnan, NYC Council Member, 25th Council District

Honorable Selvena N. Brooks-Powers, NYC Council Member, 31st Council District

Honorable Susan Zhuang, NYC Council Member, 43rd Council District

Honorable Dynishal Gross, Commissioner, Department of Small Business Services

Natasha D. Joseph, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Small Business Services

Balanda Joachin, Campaign Organizer, Association for Neighborhood & Housing Development

Abigail Ellman, Director of Planning and Development, Cooper Square Committee