Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 20, 2024

Honorable Mayor Eric Adams Mayor of New York City City Hall New York, NY 10007 Honorable Adrienne E. Adams Speaker of the New York City Council City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: Funding of Local Compost Centers

Dear Mayor Adams and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 15, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 45 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS: Composting is key to reversing the effects of greenhouse gasses in our atmosphere, and;

WHEREAS: Local composting sites, such as Big Reuse under the Queensboro Bridge that services Roosevelt Island, convert food scraps into compost used for greening our community, and;

WHEREAS: New York City has not included funding for local composting sites in its budget, which is a small percentage of the overall Sanitation budget, and;

WHEREAS: There's a possibility Big Reuse will be evicted from its current site, therefore;

BE IT RESOLVED: Community Board 8 Manhattan recommends New York City to fund local compost centers in the FY25 budget, and;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that the City take actions to prevent the eviction of Big Reuse from its current location under the Queensboro bridge that services Roosevelt Island.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Sahar Husain Addeson Leho and Barbara Rudder

Valerie S. Mason Chair Sahar Husain Addeson Lehv and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Sanitation and Environment Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York State
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District