Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

November 26, 2024

Susan M. Donoghue Commissioner Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065

RE: Approval of a pilot program for pickleball in Carl Schurz Park by the Parks Department

Dear Commissioner Donoghue,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 20, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 35 in favor, 2 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the Parks Department Pilot Program for Pickle Ball in Carl Schurz Park this spring consisting of: 3 courts with temporary nets, a gate to protect the children and general signage, which will be removed at the end of the season.

THEREFORE, BE IF FURTHER RESOLVED Community Board 8 Manhattan would like the Park Department to define how long the pilot program will last and define the criteria for making/keeping this change permanent.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason Felice Farber and Judith Schneider

Valerie S. Mason Chair Felice Farber and Judith Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

CC: Honorable Tricia Shimamura, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Parks and Recreation

Honorable Steve Simon, Chief of Staff to the Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Parks & Recreation

Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District