Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 26, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: 1014 Fifth Avenue – Revocable Consent Application

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 20, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 8 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; a revocable consent request has been submitted to NYCDOT for 1014 Fifth Avenue; and

WHEREAS; 1014 Fifth Avenue is being converted from a residence into a space that will be open to the public; and

WHEREAS; 1014 Fifth Avenue is owned by the Federal Republic of Germany, and needs to be modified to conform to New York City codes for fire, safety and accessibility in order to be able to be used as a space open to the public; and

WHEREAS; the revocable consent request includes a new landing area with a limestone balustrade projecting to protect a stairwell, which will extend 5' into the public right of way and is 5' shorter than the planters in front of the adjacent building; and

WHEREAS; a limestone bench is proposed to extend 12' 8' on the southern end of the entranceway, which is 1' 4" less than the planters in front of the adjacent building that extend 14' and

WHEREAS; 1014 Fifth Avenue has stated that they will shorten the bench if and when the adjacent building reduces the extent of the encroachment of their planters;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 approves as presented the Consulate General of Germany's revocable consent application to construct, maintain and use steps and a bench at 1014 Fifth Avenue.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District