Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

October 8, 2024

Daniel R. Garodnick, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31st Floor New York, NY 10271

Re: 854 Fifth Avenue Members Club (C240349ZSM)

Dear Chair Garodnick,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, September 18, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 2 opposed, 1 abstention, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS this is an application pursuant to ZR 74-711 to modify the use regulations of ZR 22-10 and the rear yard requirements of ZR 24-36 and 24-392 to facilitate a private members' club with three guest rooms in a landmarked building located at 854 Fifth Avenue (Block 1381, Lot 72) in the Upper East Side Historic District; and

WHEREAS the application was previously unanimously approved by Community Board 8 in October 2023 as part of their Landmarks Preservation Commission application; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 <u>approves this application on the condition</u> that the owners of the property, so long as it is a private club, provide tours of the interior to the public at least two (2) days per year.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District