Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 22, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

<u>RE: 785 Fifth Avenue (Upper East Side Historic District)</u> – *Sawyer Berson Architects* – A no-style apartment building designed by Emery Roth & Sons (Richard Roth) and constructed in 1962-1963. Application is to alter the terrace parapets and railings on the 17th floor.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 17, 2024, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 785 Fifth Avenue is an apartment house at the southeast corner of Fifth Avenue and 62nd Street and makes no particular contribution to the character of the Upper East Side Historic District; and

WHEREAS the applicant wishes to enhance the views west over Grand Army Plaza; and

WHEREAS the applicant wishes to alter the railings and parapets at the 17th floor; and

WHEREAS the proposed alteration, while visible from the public way, is distant from all but the most critical observers; and

WHEREAS the top of the building was altered in 2014 with a major penthouse renovation; and

WHEREAS the new railings are less than four inches lower than existing; and

WHEREAS the proposed alteration to the parapet height will lower the parapet by less than one foot; and

WHEREAS the proposed railing, in metal and glass will match in color and material the existing construction; and

WHEREAS the project has been well thought-out and thoroughly documented; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT this application is APPROVED as presented.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

Valerie S. Mason Chair Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District