Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 2, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Proposed 96th Street Bus Lane

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 26, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 4 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; A plan has been presented by NYCDOT and NYCT to install dedicated bus lanes on East 96th Street to be used by M96 buses to increase bus speeds, improve reliability and enhance safety; and

WHEREAS; the M96 is has the third highest ridership of any crosstown bus route in Manhattan; and WHEREAS; combined with the M106 that also travels across Central Park, the 96th Street bus corridor provides critical connectivity between the East Side and West Side, serving a combined 15,000 weekday passengers and 6,000 daily passengers who travel through Central Park; and WHEREAS; the M96 is among the most frequent routes operated by New York City Transit, with headways as frequent as every 3 minutes during peak periods; and

WHEREAS; M96 bus operations are severely impacted by congestion on East 96th Street, with average bus speeds averaging as low as 4 miles per hour between Third Avenue and Fifth Avenue; and

WHEREAS; East 96th Street is dangerous for pedestrians and inhabitants of vehicles, as safety data for East 96th Street indicates it is among the top 10 streets in New York City in terms of people killed or severely injured per mile; and

WHEREAS; the proposed East 96th Street bus lanes would prioritize bus service between Second Avenue and Madison Avenue, with 24/7 offset bus lanes on all blocks except for curbside lanes eastbound between Third Avenue and Lexington Avenue to be in effect every day between 6AM and 8PM and westbound between Park Avenue and Madison Avenue to be in effect 24/7; and WHEREAS; dedicated bus lanes, along with proposed queue jumps that would provide a bus-only

WHEREAS; dedicated bus lanes, along with proposed queue jumps that would provide a bus-only signal allowing it to get a head start at an intersection, will benefit bus speeds and reliability and promote more evenly spaced buses; and

WHEREAS; left turn bays being considered at various intersections, including at Park Avenue in both directions, Lexington Avenue and Third Avenue, would promote improved traffic flow; and WHEREAS; installation of leading pedestrian intervals, alongside traffic calming measures including a hardened center line and rubber speed bumps and the overall traffic calming that the presence of bus lanes provides, will have beneficial impacts to pedestrian safety; and

WHEREAS; the proposal will not result in any loss of any overnight on-street parking; the only changes to alternate side on-street parking regulations would be during daytime hours in the Eastbound direction between Third Avenue and Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS; bus service and reliability are central to the quality of life for residents and visitors to the 96th Street Corridor; and

WHEREAS; the expected safety enhancements are critical given the poor safety record for East 96th Street;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the plan, as presented by the MTA and New York City Transit to install Bus Lanes and associated infrastructure to East 96th Street between Second Avenue and Madison Avenue.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District