Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 28, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

RE: 690 Park Avenue (Upper East Side Historic District) – Joshua Brandfonbrener Architect – A Neo-Federal style building designed by Walker and Gillette and constructed in 1916. Application is to widen the existing door on 69th Street into the rear yard of the consulate to make is accessible, modification of the existing window facing the rear yard to make it a door to provide HC access from the rear yard to the first floor, and the removal of existing razor wire and installation of new decorative iron spikes on top of the existing wall to the rear yard.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 26, 2024, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS the Italian Consulate has two departments that require accessibility – one for issuing visas and one for issuing passports;

WHEREAS the visa office is in the cellar, and the passport office is on the first floor;

WHEREAS neither of the two floors can be made accessible through the main entrance on Park Avenue;

WHEREAS accessibility to both floors can be provided by constructing an accessible lift in the existing yard at the cellar level at the rear of the building;

WHEREAS there is an entrance to the rear yard on East 69th Street;

WHEREAS the door and frame in the wall at the rear yard will be removed and replaced with a new, 36" wide door to match the original door in appearance;

WHEREAS the new door will open onto a new platform at sidewalk level;

WHEREAS a new accessible lift will be located opposite the new door to the rear yard;

WHEREAS the new lift will rise to a new platform at the first floor and/or descend to the cellar level;

WHEREAS a new stair up to the new landing at the first floor and a new stair down to the cellar level will be built either side of the new lift:

WHEREAS there are two windows on the west wall of the building that are partially visible over the wall;

WHEREAS the southern window will be replaced with a new metal and glass door with transom;

WHEREAS the transom of the new door will have a mullion in the center to match the vertically divided northern window;

WHEREAS the stone frame around the window will remain but with returns at the bottom that meet the new door frame;

WHEREAS the door at the cellar level will be under and in line with the door to the first floor;

WHEREAS the door at the cellar level will be metal and glass to match the door above;

WHEREAS the window and door on the first floor will be minimally visible from the street;

WHEREAS the new doors and frames will be painted black;

WHEREAS the razor wire on the top of the wall will be removed and replaced with steel spikes, painted black;

WHEREAS the new accessible lift will be invisible from the street;

WHEREAS the appearance of the wall will be the same except for the replacement of the razor wire with the spikes;

WHEREAS this solution for accessibility is contextual and appropriate within the historic district;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this application is APPROVED AS PRESENTED.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Chair

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District