Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 2, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## RE: Revocable Consent Application – 40 East 66th Street

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 26, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; the owners of 40 East 66<sup>th</sup> Street are requesting a revocable consent to allow repair work for an existing vault; and

**WHEREAS**; the vault extends 1' past the property line along East 66<sup>th</sup> Street and 5'5.5" beyond the property line on Madison Avenue; and

WHEREAS; the existing vault is used by the ground level retail outlets and is experiencing leakage; and

WHEREAS; the revocable consent would allow the work to be performed to repair the leak, and would require construction involving the concrete being ripped up to allow a waterproofing membrane to be installed, followed by reconstruction of the sidewalk and street; and

WHEREAS; the project will be coordinated with NYCDOT to ensure that the phasing of the work is performed to best manage any necessary sidewalk and roadway closures and considers traffic concerns and needs;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the revocable consent request for 40 East 66<sup>th</sup> Street to conduct repairs and continue to use an existing below-grade vault.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

cc:

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District