Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

May 17, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

**RE:** 49 East 67th Street (Upper East Side Historic District) – Yellow House Architects – A Neo-Federal style building designed by Sterner & Wolfe and constructed in 1919. Application is for the replacement of an existing wood door with a new metal-and-glass door.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 15, 2024, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 30 in favor, 15 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 49 East 67th Street is a single-family five-story building on the north side of East 67th Street between Madison and Park Avenues and contributes to the character of the Upper East Side Historic District; and

WHEREAS 49 East 67th Street is a fine example of the renovation work of the architectural firm of Sterner and Wolfe, who were active on the Upper East Side in the first two decades of the 20th Century; and

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to recreate the original Juliet balconies at the second floor to their original appearance, which can be approved at Landmarks Commission staff level; and

WHEREAS the applicant wishes to alter the front door by replacing the existing painted wood door with a painted wrought iron and glass door; and

WHEREAS the proposed door will take its visual cues from the restored railings; and

WHEREAS the existing door is not original and is not painted the same color as the original; and

WHEREAS the proposed door represents a significant change in both material and appearance; and

WHEREAS although the project has been well thought-out and thoroughly documented, it is inappropriate in detail and inappropriate to the period evoked by the design; and

**THEREFORE** be it resolved that this application is **DISAPPROVED** as presented.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

Valerie S. Mason Chair Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District