Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 20, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

<u>RE: Revocable Consent Application to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in areaway with steps at 38 East 75th Street</u>

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 19, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 39 in favor, 3 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; 38 East 75th Street is seeking a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in areaway;

WHEREAS; the proposed areaway would be in conjunction with a recentering of the front entranceway of the property; and

WHEREAS; the proposed fence would extend 4'7"; beyond the property line, bringing it in line with the adjacent properties; and

WHEREAS; the proposed effective sidewalk width will be 6'; and

WHEREAS; 6' of clearance was perceived as insufficient for pedestrians, especially those who are pushing strollers or using wheelchairs; and

WHEREAS; limiting public right of way on this block was not going to provide a benefit to the general public;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan disapproves the revocable consent application to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in areaway with steps at 38 East 75th Street.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District