Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

April 8, 2024

Shampa Chanda, Chair NYC Board of Standards and Appeals 250 Broadway New York, New York 10007

RE: BSA Cal. No. 2023-71-BZ, 510 East 62nd Street, The Schwarzman Animal Medical Center

Dear Chair Chanda,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, March 20, 2024, the following resolution was approved by a vote of 35 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstention, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS: this is an application, BSA Cal. No. 2023-71-BZ, under Section 72-21 of the Zoning Resolution in order to construct a non-complying sign along the Schwarzman Animal Medical Center building's westerly facade contrary to ZR Section 32-654; and

WHEREAS: the sign would rise to a height of 134'-7", contrary to ZR 32-654, which permits signage to a maximum height of 58'; and

WHEREAS: the applied for sign can only be for displaying the name of the animal medical center, and no other advertisement or verbiage, whether now or in the future; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan **APPROVES** this application as presented.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District