Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

March 26, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

**<u>RE: 944 Park Avenue (Park Avenue Historic District)</u> –** *Bryan Brown Architects* **– An Art Deco style building designed by George F. Pelham and constructed in 1929-30. Application is for a sidewalk canopy replacement.** 

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 20, 2024, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 35 in favor, 3 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS** 944 Park Avenue is an Art Deco - style building designed by George F. Pelham and constructed in 1929-1930;

**WHEREAS** the proposed new canopy rises above the entrance and obscures some of the existing decorative stonework;

**WHEREAS** the applicant is also replacing the front entry door; the existing door is 7' 5"; the proposed new door, approved at the staff level of the Landmarks Preservation Commission, is 10'1" high;

**WHEREAS** the height of the new door requires that the canopy rests against the masonry above the doorway;

WHEREAS the masonry above the door is non-historic;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is APPROVED as presented.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

David Helpern and Jane Parshall

David Helpern and Jane Parshall Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8<sup>th</sup> Council District