Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

February 26, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Revocable Consent Application to construct, maintain and use Snowmelt System at 20 East 78th Street

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on February 21, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 21 in favor, 11 opposed, 3 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the owners of 20 East 78th Street are requesting a revocable consent for an electric snow melt system; and

WHEREAS; the system can be accessed from the basement of the home; and

WHEREAS; the owner will be responsible for any costs related to maintenance if the system needs to be repaired and require the sidewalk be ripped up; and

WHEREAS; the snow melt system benefits the public when operating as intended;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the revocable consent request for a snow melt system in front of 20 East 78th Street.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Valerie S. Mason Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District