Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 26, 2024

Hon. Eric Adams Adrienne E. Adams

Mayor of New York Speaker City Hall City Hall

New York, NY 10007 New York, NY 10007

RE: Approval of the amended Nuisance Abatement Bill as presented by Council Member Keith Powers.

Dear Mayor Adams and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 24, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS: There are about 1500 illegal Cannabis shops in the City, and;

WHEREAS: Currently the laws make it slow and difficult to close these stores; and;

WHEREAS: These stores sell illegal products, evade current laws about selling to minors, are a blight on our streetscape, and cause crime; and;

WHEREAS: The existing New York City Nuisance Abatement Law can be amended to facilitate quickly and easily shutting illegal shops;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: Community Board 8 Manhattan encourages a speedy passage of the amended Nuisance Abatement Law as outlined in Introduction 1243-2023 to:

- 1) Clarify that the distribution for sale, selling at wholesale or retail, or delivering to consumers of any cannabis, cannabis product, medical cannabis, or cannabinoid hemp or hemp extract product without the appropriate registration, license, or permit issued by New York State is a public nuisance subject to permanent and preliminary injunctions;
- 2) Create a new category of public nuisance involving the selling, delivery, or giving away of cannabis to any person under 21 years of age; and
- 3) Make the above-mentioned public nuisances subject to temporary closing orders and temporary restraining orders.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason Rebecca Dangoor, Barbara Rudder, and Wilma Johnson

Valerie S. Mason Chair Rebecca Dangoor, Barbara Rudder, and Wilma Johnson Co-Chairs, Health, Seniors, & Social Services Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District