Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 30, 2024

Sreoshy Banerjea, Executive Director Public Design Commission of the City of New York City Hall, Third Floor New York, NY 10007

## <u>RE: Approval of the Application from Cornell Tech to the Public Design Commission to install four</u> <u>graphic/signage elements on its Roosevelt Island campus.</u>

Dear Executive Director Banerjea,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 24, 2024, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS** Cornell Tech is seeking approval of four (4) visual elements to be installed on the campus exterior to enhance the University's presence and identity.

**WHEREAS** the proposed elements are: 1) metal banners on select existing lampposts; 2) a threedimensional university seal at the campus northwest entry; 3) pin letters identifying the university at the existing terrace retaining walls at two buildings; 4) replacement of white LED bulbs with University red bulbs illuminating the louvers above building entry of the residential building.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 approves this application.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Paul Krikler

Paul Krikler Chair, Roosevelt Island Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8<sup>th</sup> Council District