Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 30, 2024

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Revocable Consent Application to construct, maintain and use Walled-in area, including planters at 1083 Fifth Avenue (between 89 and 90th Streets), block 1501, lot 4, in the Borough of Manhattan (for Ogden Codman LLC)

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 24, 2024, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 4 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; 1143 Fifth Avenue is seeking a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area, including a fence; and

WHEREAS; the proposed fenced-in garden would restore a condition to the building when it was originally built in 1923; and

WHEREAS; the proposed fence would extend 7; beyond the property line, which is less than the adjacent building with a garden that extends 9' 6" beyond the property line; and

WHEREAS; the proposed effective sidewalk width will be 12' 6.5";

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>APPROVES</u> a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a planted area, including a fence.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerrold Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District