Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

December 20, 2023

Hon. Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Hon. Eric Adams Mayor of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007 Andrea Stewart-Cousins Majority Leader The New York State Senate 250 Broadway, Room 1930 New York, NY 10007

Adrienne E. Adams Speaker City Hall New York, NY 10007 Carl E. Heastie Speaker The New York State Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

Dan Garodnick Director Department of City Planning 120 Broadway, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor New York, NY 10271

## **RE: Affordable Housing AMI**

Dear Governor Hochul, Mayor Adams, Majority Leader Stewart-Cousins, Speaker Heastie, Speaker Adams, and Director Garodnick

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on December 13, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 2 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS**, the Department of Housing and Urban Development sets the Area Median Income each year in the United States and the current AMI for Community District 8 includes: Richmond, Queens, Kings, New York, Bronx, Westchester, Putnam, and Rockland counties;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that, any new development within Community District 8 must use the lower AMI between that for New York City (the five boroughs) or Community District 8.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Ed Hartzog and Rebecca Lamorte

Edward Hartzog and Rebecca Lamorte Co-Chairs, Housing Committee

 cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District