Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

December 20, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: DOT Revocable Consent – 9 East 75 Street. Application to the NYC DOT for a Revocable Consent to construct, maintain, and use a Fenced-in Area (with in-ground planters, and area drains)

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on December 13, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 24 in favor, 12 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS;** an application for a Revocable Consent to construct, maintain, and use a Fenced-in Area with in-ground planters and area drains at 9 East 75th Street, which includes former properties at 11 and 13 East 75th Street; and

**WHEREAS**; the application includes removal and filling of existing vaults at 9 and 11 that already extend beyond the property line; and

**WHEREAS**; 13 contains an existing below-grade stairwell and vault that will be filled and removed, along with a second vault that will be rebuilt within the areaway being requested; and

WHEREAS; fencing would also be added in front of 9 and 11 and already is in place in front of 13; and

**WHEREAS**; the areaways requested would align with the fences to the west, and would be 3-feet high black wrought--iron picket fence similar to those to the east, and planters would be placed within the fenced-in area;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves this application as presented.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District