Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

December 13, 2023

Honorable Mayor Eric Adams Mayor of New York City City Hall New York, NY 10007 Honorable Adrienne E. Adams Speaker of the New York City Council City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: Expansion of the NYCHA Reentry Program

Dear Mayor Adams and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on December 13, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, the NYCHA Family Reentry Program reunifies formerly incarcerated people with family members after they have served their time, and

WHEREAS, this two-year program reunites the participants with qualified family members for two years during which their rents are held stable and the participant agrees to engage in supportive programming, and

WHEREAS, stable housing and community ties are pathways to successful reentry and successful program participants are eligible to be added to their family leases, and

WHEREAS, the NYCHA Family Reentry Program has been an enormous success as 96% of program participants between 2013 and 2023 successfully completed the program,

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, Community Board 8 Manhattan urges the City of New York to support and increases resources to expand the NYCHA Reentry Program, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED Community Board 8 Manhattan urges all NYC elected officials to disseminate information regarding the NYCHA Reunification Program to their constituents.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Sarah Chu and Saundrea I. Coleman

Russell Squire Sarah Chu and Saundrea I. Coleman, Chair Co-Chairs, Social Justice Committee

cc: Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District