Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 15, 2023

Daniel R. Garodnick, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor New York, NY 10271

## Re: East 94th Street Rezoning (ULURP Nos. 230241ZMM and N230242ZRM)

Dear Chair Garodnick,

At the Land Use Committee meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, November 8, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 32 in favor, 4 opposed, 3 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS**: this is an application by LM East 94 LLC requesting a zoning map change for a portion of East 94th Street between Second and Third Avenues from an M1-4 district to a C4-6 and C2-8 district and a zoning text amendment to map an MIH area, to facilitate the development of a new residential housing development at 231 East 94th Street; therefore

**BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>APPROVES</u> this application subject to the following conditions:

- That the proportion of affordable units be increased to 30%, but otherwise subject to the same terms as the original application, including the average affordability of 60% AMI;
- That the building be required to remain a rental building for at least 15 years;
- That open space be incorporated into the site;
- That 200 parking spaces be retained on the site;
- That the height of the building be reduced to a maximum of 355 feet;
- That construction use all union labor or pay prevailing wage;

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan's conditional approval of this application should not be understood as diminishing Community Board 8 Manhattan's commitment to maintaining lower density mid-block through R8-B zoning, and Community Board 8 continues to strongly support maintenance of R8-B zoning everywhere it exists in our community district.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District