Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 20, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Dining Out NYC Program and Siting of Bike Racks and Transportation Infrastructure

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 15, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; Prospective and existing restaurants will likely be considering the Dining Out NYC Rules as part of its business plan; and

WHEREAS; Community Board 8 Manhattan has previously requested that NYCDOT be required to flexible and take the needs of restaurants into account in the siting of new and existing bike racks and other transportation; and

WHEREAS; the proposed rules for Dining Out NYC don't explicitly discuss such considerations;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan reiterates its May 2022 resolution requesting that NYCDOT be flexible and take the needs of restaurants into account in the siting of new and existing bike racks and other transportation infrastructure.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that restaurants should not be charged the costs for removal of any bike infrastructure in front of their premises.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District