Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

September 27, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Revocable consent application to construct, maintain and use Walled-in area, including planters at 1083 Fifth Avenue (between 89 and 90th Streets), block 1501, lot 4, in the Borough of Manhattan (for Ogden Codman LLC)

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on September 20, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 7 opposed, 0 abstentions and 1 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; 1083 Fifth Avenue is seeking a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a walled-in area, including planters; and

WHEREAS; the proposed walled-in area would reduce the effective sidewalk space to 14' 6", over 10 feet less than the 25' sidewalk width of Fifth Avenue, and extend nearly 4 feet more from the building than the adjacent property; and

WHEREAS; the proposal put forward by 1083 was also part of a project that was previously presented to Community Board 8 as a Landmarks item that was unanimously opposed; and

WHEREAS; there is continued opposition to design-related aspects of the revocable consent request; and WHEREAS; the proposed walled-in area was perceived as providing minimal public benefit and as a giveaway of public space to private interests;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>DISAPPROVES</u> the revocable consent request of 1083 Fifth Avenue to construct, maintain and use a walled-in area, including planters. Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District