Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

September 27, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Open Street Application - Allen Stevenson School (East 78th Street from Park Avenue to Lexington Avenue) From 7:30am to 8:30am and 2:30pm to 3:30pm, Monday through Friday

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on September 20, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 35 in favor, 4 opposed, 3 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; Allen Stevenson School has applied to operate an NYCDOT Open Street on East 78th Street between Park Avenue and Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS; the requested open street is for school days between the hours of 7:30AM and 8:30AM and 2:30PM and 3:30PM, coinciding with student arrival and dismissal; and

WHEREAS; the requested open street hours is significantly reduced from the prior school year, which was opposed by neighbors due to the disruption it caused; and

WHEREAS; Allen Stevenson School has worked extensively with neighbors, and obtained the support of the Block Association and other neighbors for maintaining the open street only during student pick-up and drop-off times; and

WHEREAS; Allen Stevenson School will have a staff member managing access during the hours of the open street, and will ensure that neighbors, visitors and deliveries will be able to access other addresses on the block;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the application from Allen Stevenson School, as presented, to operate an NYCDOT Open Street from 7:30am to 8:30am and 2:30pm to 3:30pm, Monday through Friday.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District