Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 27, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Request to add street cleaning regulations across the of entirety Lexington Avenue between 59th and 96th Streets

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 19, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; complaints have been received by Community Board 8 regarding the cleanliness of Lexington Avenue between 59th and 96th Streets; and

WHEREAS; current parking signage along Lexington Avenue lacks dedicated times in which parking is restricted to allow street sweepers to operate; and

WHEREAS; prior to the 2019 introduction of the bus lane, there had been No Standing regulations in effect during certain hours that allowed street sweeping to occur;

WHEREAS; nearby Third Avenue has street sweeping regulations in place, and is viewed as being cleaner than Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS; clean streets are of critical importance to residents, visitors and businesses of Community District 8;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 requests that NYCDOT change parking regulations along Lexington Avenue between 59th Street and 96th Street to incorporate appropriate street sweeping or no standing regulations to allow street sweepers to clean the street on a regular basis.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair

cc:

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District