Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 27, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## RE: Request by Durama Tours, Inc. DBA The Ride, for a sightseeing bus stop on Fifth Avenue between 83rd and 84th Streets

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 19, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 39 in favor, 3 opposed, 0 abstention and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; Durama Tours, DBA "The Ride", is requesting use of a tourism bus stop on 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue between 83<sup>rd</sup> and 84<sup>th</sup> Streets; and

WHEREAS; Durama Tours has purchased "The Ride", a sightseeing bus service, from an operator no longer in business; and

**WHEREAS**; Durama Tours will use the same bus stop and provide the same tourism service as the prior operator, with 5 daily trips every day except Tuesdays; and

**WHEREAS;** the bus stop on 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue between 83<sup>rd</sup> and 84<sup>th</sup> Streets is shared with another tourism bus service, and trip times are coordinated to not overlap; and

WHEREAS; Durama Tours buses will be picking up and dropping off passengers who have purchased tickets online; and

WHEREAS; Durama Tours will not be conducting any sales of tickets or provide any on-street entertainment at the bus stop being requested for use; and

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8, approves the request by Durama Tours, Inc., DBA "The Ride", to use the tourism bus stop on 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue between 83<sup>rd</sup> and 84<sup>th</sup> Streets.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District