Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620

June 20, 2023

Daniel R. Garodnick, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor New York, NY 10271

## Re: City of Yes for Carbon Neutrality (N 230113 ZRY)

Dear Chair Garodnick,

At the Land Use Committee meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, June 14, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 31 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS: The NYC Department of City Planning in close consultation with the Mayor's Office of Climate and Environmental Justice (MOCEJ) is proposing a citywide zoning text amendment to implement changes to the City's Zoning Resolution to remove impediments to, and expand opportunities for, decarbonization projects within all zoning districts, and across all 59 of the City's Community Districts.; therefore

**BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>APPROVES</u> this application as presented; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that the Department of City Planning examine the impacts of very tall buildings on climate change.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mork Leving, Manhotten Borovah President

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District