Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 18, 2023

Adam Roberts Deputy Commissioner State Liquor Authority 80 South Swan Street, Suite 900 Albany, NY 12210-8002

RE: State Liquor Authority Timeline for Liquor License Approval

Dear Deputy Commissioner Roberts,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 17, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 38 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS Community Board 8 (CB8) is very concerned with length of time that it takes for the New York State Liquor Authority to approve liquor licenses; and

WHEREAS CB8 is concerned about the impact this is having on establishments seeking to open and operate food & drink establishments and the negative effect the long delay in obtaining a liquor license is having upon them; and

WHEREAS CB8 is supportive of all food & drink establishments who operate in accordance with laws; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that CB8 calls on the New York State Liquor Authority to immediately take all steps necessary, including allocating additional resources, to resolve the issue and to shorten the time that it take for the SLA to process and approve liquor licenses.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

cc:

Abraham Salcedo

Abraham Salcedo Chair, Street Life Committee

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District