Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 18, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Restaurant Sidewalk Enclosures

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 17, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 38 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS Community Board 8 (CB8) is very concerned with the safety and security of its neighborhood and residents; and

WHEREAS CB8 is very troubled by the number and size of restaurant sidewalk enclosures which are not within the size requirements set forth by the Department of Transportation and that do not allow for the required clearance for pedestrians to safely use the sidewalk; and

WHEREAS CB8 is very concerned by the lack of enforcement by DOT to rectify this issue; and

WHEREAS CB8 is supportive of all food & drink establishments who operate in accordance with laws and regulations and CB8 wants all food & drink establishments to be good neighbors; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that CB8 calls on the Department of Transportation to immediately take all steps necessary, including allocating additional resources, to resolve the issue and to enforce its own regulatory requirements and to have food & drink establishments modify or remove their sidewalk enclosures to comply with the law.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Abraham Salcedo

Abraham Salcedo Chair, Street Life Committee

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District