Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 22, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038 Matthew C. Fraser Chief Technology Officer NYC Office of Technology & Innovation 2 MetroTech Center, P1 Brooklyn, NY 11201

RE: Disapproval of a 5G Street Pole attachment on 85th St. between Madison and Fifth Avenues

Dear Commissioner Pincar and CTO Fraser,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 17, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the NYC Office of Technology and Innovation (NYCOTI) is required to inform Community Boards of proposed 5G street pole attachment locations only if they are proposed within 10 feet of nearby buildings; and

WHEREAS; NYCOTI has notified Community Board 8 of the proposed installation of a 5G street pole attachment within 10 feet from a nearby building on East 85th Street between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue; and

WHEREAS; Residents of Community District 8 have previously raised and continue to express concern about previously installed 5G street pole attachments; and

WHEREAS; the appropriateness of the siting of 5G infrastructure locations must be fully considered by Community Boards; and

WHEREAS; 5G street pole attachments 10' or less from nearby buildings is perceived as being too close, regardless of the proposed location;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 disapproves the NYCOTI proposed 5G street pole attachment within 10 feet of buildings on East 85th Street between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Russell Squire Chair cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York
Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District