Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax)

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 26, 2023

Barry Schneider
President
East Sixties Neighborhood Association
PO Box 1855
New York, NY 10021-0048
Ana Lopez
Manager
Bentley Hotel
500 East 62nd Street
New York, NY 10065

RE: Billboard on York Avenue, between 61st and 62nd Street.

Dear Mr. Schneider and Ms. Lopez,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 21, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS a large, illuminated billboard at York Avenue, between 61st and 62nd streets is adversely impacting the lives of local residents, and

WHEREAS The billboard, which is owned by the Bentley Hotel, is as-of-right, and

WHEREAS The Bentley Hotel and the East 60's Neighborhood Association have discussed ways to mitigate the damage, and

WHEREAS The Bentley Hotel has already taken steps toward this mitigation, and

WHEREAS the community appreciates these steps very much,

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED that Community Board 8 supports ongoing discussions between the stakeholders to identify the parties' concerns and the effect on the neighborhood's livability, and to minimize the impact on the local community.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire Elizabeth Ashby, Anthony Cohn, and Sharon Pope-Marshall

Russell Squire Elizabeth Ashby, Anthony Cohn and Sharon Pope-Marshall

Chair Co-Chairs, Zoning & Development Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District